"Cava" is a Spanish designation of origin for sparkling wines produced by the traditional method. The region covered by the designation of origin, known as the Cava Region, mainly comprises the Catalan region of Penedès (provinces of Barcelona and Tarragona). San Sadurní de Noya is the most important production center and headquarters of the regulatory council. Cava is also produced in other parts of Spain. The Regulatory Council of Cava determines the Cava Region as consisting of a total of 159 municipalities from the provinces of Barcelona (63), Tarragona (52), La Rioja (18), Lleida (12), Girona (5), Álava (3), Zaragoza (2), Navarra (2), Badajoz (1), and Valencia (1), which together make up the delimited production area of Cava.